Too high nut or bridge (or both)

arppig

Reaction score
I got my ukulele for Christmas from my grandparents but haven't had time to play it because of school. I noticed in December tuning issues, where the open strings would be right on but the first fret notes would be 60-70 cents sharp. It didn't bother me until recently when I started playing more. Pressing down the strings at first - third fret is somewhat difficult. Here are some pictures of the distance from the fret board to the strings.

Height at nut:
nutresize.jpg

Height at bridge:
bridgeresize.jpg

Height at end of fret board:
fretboardresize.jpg

Pressing first fret down:
1stfretresize.jpg

How do I fix this? Should I take it in to a music shop (and how much would this cost)?

Too high at the nut. The saddle doesn't look that tall, so try deepening the nut slots a bit, a little at a time and evenly. Measure from the fret, not the fretboard. You need to have enough distance for the strings to vibrate without buzzing.

It's very easy to set up yourself, key is to go slow and keep putting the strings back into position to check height. From my personal experience, even before you think you have it low enough, tune it back up and check playability and intonation. You should see on the tuner that the strings are becoming less sharp. I just set up my classical guitar at the saddle end. It's great now. On saddles, always look for the angle of the saddle slot and the saddle, and make sure you keep that angle to ensure full contact, saddle to bridge. I can't really play it yet, but at least I could make it playable, lol.

Way too high at nut. I would advise against filing nut slots deeper, or you are going to create a comb!! ( they need to come down quite a bit by look of it!)