My most interesting music instruemnt acquisition ever.

dawhealer

Reaction score
Okay, so I started learning guitar when I got my first real guitar for my birthday in 1959. I think I was born into a love affair with stringed and fretted instruments. Had the plastic toy guitars/ukuleles, and even a plastic fiddle (with frets!) that could actually be played with a bow (geez my parents were patient folks) from the time I could walk up until '59. In '57 I literally started lobbying my parents for a "real" instrument until they caved and bought me a Sears Silvertone guitar in '59.

After that I only had one uke and that was a Silvertone with a plastic fretboard. I wasn't impressed with it and tossed it. Didn't take ukes seriously until just a few months ago.

I already had my father-in-law's Silvertone soprano (better than the Silvertone I had earlier; real fretboard and real frets) and did some upgrading on it. Then I got a Lanakai concert size uke. Then my wife got interested in learning to play. She liked the concert size better than the soprano. I also like the concert size better. Dilemma.

So I started looking on Craig's list and found a guy selling a Mitchell MU-100 with a nice gig bag. After doing a little research I realized that this uke can be a mixed bag, but the thing that intrigued me was the ad. It had been up for over a month. Not surprising, considering. The seller wanted to sell the uke or trade it. But here's the stipulation of the trade: "The only material I would be potentially interested in trading is hand gun equipment or guns."

Now, in the last fifty-two years I've bought and sold a lot of guitars, but never had a deal come up like that.