Beginner Uke Recommendations?

FlyedPiper

Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I'm new to the Uke and looking to get one to start learning. I was wondering if I could get some recommendations of a good company that makes a good uke at around the $100 range, plus or minus $50, to try the instrument out?

Also, I like the sound of the baritone ukes (the deeper sounding the better), are they any harder or easier to play than say a soprano or concert? Or should I start out with something else and move up to one? I have no stringed instrument experience. Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,

FP

Welcome to UU FlyedPiper

Baritones are tuned differently that the Tenors, Concert and Soprano ukes. They are tuned like the first 4 strings of a guitar. It is a longer instrument, and will have a greater string tension than the other sizes. Because it is longer, it will have richer low notes, and sound more guitar-like. The larger instruments tend to cost more, and baritones can sometimes be hard to find. If you plan to play with other uke players, and use their chord charts, you will be less confused with a tenor or smaller size. If you think you are more likely to be playing with guitar players, then a baritone would be more similar to what they are playing.

A tenor ukulele with low G tuning might be an easy place to start for you. Not sure if you can get one in your price range, but look at Kala, Makala, Lanikai, and Ohana. Maybe you can find a used one. There are a lot of old Harmony Baritones around (from what I hear), so you might try one of those. If you truly want a deep sounding instrument, you might look at a parlor size or half size guitar instead.

–Lori