SoCal ukers - Ukulele Fretboard Roadmaps class with Fred Sokolow

janeray1940

Reaction score
Aloha SoCal folks! Fred Sokolow, author of Ukulele Fretboard Roadmaps, is teaching an ongoing class based on his book, and a few spots have opened up. It takes place most Saturdays, 1pm-3pm, in Santa Monica. Cost is $25 per 2-hour session. The next meeting will be on July 9.

This isn't a class for absolute beginners - you will be able to keep up if you already know your first position chords well, and are familiar with moveable/barre chords.

Please PM me if you would like further info. Thanks!

I've just started in on a couple of these classes, and they are fantastic. It's not a formal lesson, more an ongoing casual how-to. While I am in over my head at times with the theoretical aspect, in just two classes, I have picked up a glimmer of ability to figure out songs by ear and from memory. So far it's only "Hobo's Lullaby" and "Out on a Weekend", but it's a start...
A few more of these classes and a little more time spent on the book should allow me to escape the tyranny of the song sheet in due course.
come on down!

Hi, I've just moved to the San Luis Obispo area so I'm going to motor down for this session. I look forward to meeting you all.
Jim

I'd love to be able to join this class, but I fear I wouldn't get much out of it yet, as I don't think I am up to snuff enough to keep up. Especially since I recently bought Fretboard Roadmaps and have a perpetual look of "what the f ..." on my face when reading it.

Hopefully there will be another class in a few months when my skillz will be mad enough to allow me to actually gain something from the time, rather than just being an anchor on the rest of the folks involved.

Especially since I recently bought Fretboard Roadmaps and have a perpetual look of "what the f ..." on my face when reading it.