Another Concert or a Tenor

deadpool

Reaction score
I have been liquidating mandolins in order to feed my recently acquired UAS addiction. I currently have an Ohana Pinapple PK 25 G (soprano) and a Kala KA-C (laminated concert). Also a Dolphin (not part of this question). I now have ~$600 and would like to buy either a solid Koa Concert or Tenor. Unsure what to do. I like the concert size and tone. Would I notice a big difference in the Koa from the laminated Mahogany or would it be cool to have a soprano, a concert and a tenor?

I have been playing about 10 days so I really don't have a firm grasp on which way to go (do have many years on the guitar and mandolin to fall back on though)

All opinions welcome. :confused:

Since you have so much experience as a musician, I don't think you'd be happy for long with a stable of only laminates. Lots of nice solid bodies out there. someone got a Mele solid mahogany concert on ebay yesterday for $99.99 with $14 shipping...who'd a thunk it. For $600 you could have gotten solid mahogany pono's, both a concert and a tenor both with Ko'olau hard case, and pickup at various times. If you really want a Koa concert, go for it. You will probably end up with the tenor eventually anyway, or the other way around. You'll get lots of good advice here.....keep your eyes on the UU marketplace and fleamarketmusic Marketplace for the best deals you are likely to find. Been some absolutely amazing ukes here in the last month. If you haven't done it, scroll down 5 or 10 pages of the Marketplace to see what kind of deals regularly appear.