First Two Builds

JPWhite

Reaction score
My wife took ukulele lessons a year or so back and it has been fun for the family. I'm an aerospace engineer who always needs a project and her cheap uke just can't hold a note. We both play a little (she's better than I) and I thought I'd make us each one over the summer.

I found Steve at Colonial Tonewoods within driving distance from my house and he was great. We went up over Father's Day weekend and snagged all the wood we'd need for both ukes. I'm only familiar with what woods I've read about on the forum here, but here's the list of what we came home with:

- 2 Koa concert sets
- 1 Honduran rosewood fingerboard and bridge blank
- 1 Bird's eye maple fingerboard and bridge blank
- Walnut and maple bindings
- 2 Honduran mahogany neck blanks (one big chunk to cut two solid necks)

Along with that he essentially sent us home with free internals (bracing, kerfing, and tail block). Again, Steve was great to work with and seemed just as excited about us selecting our wood out as we were.

I don't have many tools, but do have a table saw, router, belt sander, and a Dremel. I found a friend of a friend who let me use his band saw and I've managed to start cutting out some jig pieces, roughed out (very rough) the necks, and joined the top and bottom for the first uke. It'll be a slow project I think as I can only moonlight as a uke maker. In any case, I plan on posting my progress here for those who are interested (and to seek help should I need it). The first few pics are included here. I look forward to any comments or suggestions you with experience have for me.

JPWhite

Attachments

• IMAG0322.jpg
    IMAG0322.jpg
    90.5 KB · Views: 145
  • IMAG0324.jpg
    IMAG0324.jpg
    88.8 KB · Views: 125
  • IMAG0326.jpg
    IMAG0326.jpg
    89.6 KB · Views: 131
  • IMAG0333.jpg
    IMAG0333.jpg
    95.4 KB · Views: 138
  • IMAG0335.jpg
    IMAG0335.jpg
    92.8 KB · Views: 123