help for a complete beginner at the uke?

emilylane

Reaction score
so i've been interested in learning how to play the ukulele for a while now and i decided that before i spend a lot of money on a quality uke, i might as well try out a cheap one and see how i like it. i bought a very cheap uke (it's almost toy like..) at ron jon's surf shop today for around $15. i know that this will sacrifice quality of the sound and such but i just wanna get a feel for the instrument. so basically here are my questions:

- what kind of strings can i buy to replace these plastic ones that it came with? (i get confused with the soprano and tenor strings and which ones i need)
- is it possible for me to learn the uke (basics) on this cheap ukulele that i bought?
- what's the best way for me to begin learning how to play?

oh and any other advice you have to help me is greatly appreciated. i figured that this is the place to go to ask for help about ukes :) thanks for the help!

Aloha Emily,
Welcome to the UU and our forums...for the real beginner click this site and click on the right uploads...for beginners.. http://www.youtube.com/user/madelinelpots?blend=2&ob=5#p/u
Also you can google Musicteacher2010 and Paxukulele for awesome ukulele video tutorials and Dr Uke for songs, chords and instructions...Have fun and enjoy...Happy Strummings..MM Stan

so i've been interested in learning how to play the ukulele for a while now and i decided that before i spend a lot of money on a quality uke, i might as well try out a cheap one and see how i like it. i bought a very cheap uke (it's almost toy like..) at ron jon's surf shop today for around $15. i know that this will sacrifice quality of the sound and such but i just wanna get a feel for the instrument. so basically here are my questions:

- what kind of strings can i buy to replace these plastic ones that it came with? (i get confused with the soprano and tenor strings and which ones i need)