quick questions

bec11mort

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to UU so I just have a couple of quick questions.

First, what is your best piece of advice that you would give to someone just trying to learn to play the ukulele?

Second, when I am switching chords (even when I'm not strumming) the strings make noises when I move my fingers. Is it just that I have "sticky fingers" literally or is this something I am doing wrong? (It also could be due to the uke I'm using since I am practicing on a really inexpensive souvenir with plastic strings until my new uke comes). I want to make sure that this isn't a technical problem that will be harder to solve later if I'm "set in my ways."

Thanks everyone!

Last edited:
Aloha bec11mort,
Welcome to the UU and our forums...have fun and enjoy...for motivation and inspiration watch some you tube videos and then look up the chords and try the songs..or google Musicteacher2010
and paxukulele for awesome ukulele video tutorials and Dr Uke for chords, songs, and instructions..and don't worry about the minor sounds for your fingers lifting off the strings..when you strum
you cant hear them.... Happy Strummings.. MM Stan

Last edited:
First, what is your best piece of advice that you would give to someone just trying to learn to play the ukulele?

Practice when you can, but DO put some practice in just before you go to bed, and in general when practicing, be hydrated, go slow, and when you are muffing up, stop, have a break for at least 10 mins....

Practicing is about building pathways in the brain, the more often the pathways are used the quicker/more accurately the information is transferred. There is no such thing as "muscle memory", they are controlled by your brain