Neck Making Tips?

TicToc

Reaction score
Hey guys, I've been tinkering with electric guitars for a few years now, so I figured for my first ukulele build I'd keep it simple for me with a solid-body electric soprano. I've got the body done, but I'm seriously having trouble with the neck. All I have are some hand saws, files, an electric sander, and a bunch of wood glue. Has anyone ever made a neck like this using no power tools? Am I insane for trying? If it turns out that I am, could anyone point me in the right direction to get a very inexpensive soprano ukulele neck? I'm on a tight budget. Thanks in advance guys!

Cut out the profile with a coping saw, then shape the heel and neck with a rasp file. As you get closer to the shape you want, use finer files. I made my first four ukes pretty much with hand tools.

LMI has soprano necks for sale, but they AIN'T cheap!

Mainland Ukes sells soprano necks that include a pre-fretted rosewood fretboard.

On my first neck I marked out the side profile..and then made a lot of sawcuts 1/2" apart cut down to the line, then removed most of the material with a mallet and chisel.. then I started the carving with knives chisels rasps etc:..and finally finished it off with a piece of glass used as a scraper.

Hey guys, I've been tinkering with electric guitars for a few years now, so I figured for my first ukulele build I'd keep it simple for me with a solid-body electric soprano. I've got the body done, but I'm seriously having trouble with the neck. All I have are some hand saws, files, an electric sander, and a bunch of wood glue. Has anyone ever made a neck like this using no power tools? Am I insane for trying? If it turns out that I am, could anyone point me in the right direction to get a very inexpensive soprano ukulele neck? I'm on a tight budget. Thanks in advance guys!