String buzzing while playing quarter notes

Vladim

Reaction score
Hi everybody!

4 days ago I started playing my ukulele Kala KA-S.

I'm a total beginner in string instruments so I have a problem which I can't solve.

When I try to play consequently 2 or more quarter notes on E- or C-strings my ukulele buzzes because the string is still vibrating in the moment I touch it the second time. Of course, I can pluck a string up slightly so that the vibrating string could come at rest before I pluck it up the second time. But that doesn't fit me 'cause I really want to play loud.

How can I get rid of this annoying buzzing? Should I stretch strings tighter so that they wouldn't vibrate so much?

Last edited:
I'm not totally sure I understand what you're describing, but it's true that the harder you hit the strings, the more they vibrate. Buzzing is usually caused by vibrating strings hitting the fretboard, so if you're really hitting the strings hard because you want to play loud that might be the problem. You could have your action adjusted higher so the strings can vibrate more before they hit the fretboard; that would let you hit the strings harder without the buzzing (although it will also make it a little harder to fret notes and might affect the uke's intonation).

You could also maybe explore getting a pickup for your uke, or getting an eleuke. If you amplify the sound, you can make all the noise you like without necessarily hitting the strings very hard.

When you pluck a string you should be striking it quickly enough that it doesn't really have a chance to buzz. This is true regardless of the duration of note you are playing. It sounds like your finger (or pick) is approaching the string hesitantly so the vibrating string rattles. That is not how you should approach the string. Your finger (or pick) should move quickly "through" the string.

I’m sorry for my very bad English, guys. Explaining myself on music and musical terms is a new and difficult task for me.