Makala MK-S or Dolphin?

darlindaday

Reaction score
I'm completely new to this site, so hello guys! I'm also new to ukuleles and am considering buying a cheapish one soon to get me started off ebay. I would like to get a Makala because I have heard lots of good things about them from many different people. However, I'm not sure on whether to buy the Makala MK-S or Dolphin? Which one would be better for me to buy? I love the look of the dolphin, especially the black one, but am not really bothered by the looks, more the sound and the quality of the instrument itself. Sound wise which one's better? Basically overall, which one would be the better instrument and the best one to buy out of the two?
Thanks for all your help guys! :)

I have a Dolphin, and I love it! It's an attention grabber that's for sure.

The MK-S is also a fine instrument.

I would touch base with Mim of Mim's Ukes. She's really great at helping people pick the right instrument for them!

Welcome to UU!!

The MK-S is ligter than the Dolphin, so it can be a little louder and sweeter sounding. But I have a Dolphin, and I love it!

If you're buying your first uke online, it'd be smart to stay away from ebay. You'll get a better sounding ukulele if you buy from a reputable ukulele shop---Uke Republic, Mim's Ukulele, Hawaiian Music Supply, Ukulele World, Ukulele Academy---these folks will adjust your ukulele so that it plays well and sounds good before it's sent to you. You can also call any of these shops and ask your question directly---or even ask, "Can you please pick out your nicest-sounding Makala for me?"

Welcome to UU!!

The MK-S is ligter than the Dolphin, so it can be a little louder and sweeter sounding. But I have a Dolphin, and I love it!