My Disbility and Ukuleles

joeybug

Reaction score
Hey Everyone :D

Firstly, I don't have a video for the DU, so I won't post again until I have one of my own or from someone else!

I was talking with some UU members and they suggested I post this thread about Ukulele playing and having a disability (either a visible or invisible one).

As the majority of you know, I have a few conditions that limit my life and my Ukulele playing. I'm 29 and use a wheelchair 95% of the time, I have been playing Ukulele for about 10 1/2 months (started 31st August 2010) and have learnt many things, both about the Ukulele and what I need to overcome in order to be the best player I can be - not talking about becoming the next Jake, because I know that's not possibly, but basically just being the best I KNOW I can be :D

So, what have I learnt? Well, firstly that I'll always need a strap to play for a period of time, I can usually manage a few minutes without one and then the Ukulele becomes to heavy and my arms are tired and sore, so I use an Uke Leash (which I love, thanks Lori!) and that's enabled me to play and practise for my 30 + mins a day. I've also learnt that even though I can stand and walk a bit, I can't do that with an Ukulele, I have to focus too much on staying upright that I just can't do it while holding one of my prized possessions!