advice - strings on a concert solid wood uke

brucemoffatt

Reaction score
Hi all,

I know that the best answer is 'it depends' but here goes anyway. I'm a bit of a newbie, been strumming for 10 months, not anywhere near a good player. I have bought a concert size Cordoba 25CK with all solid wood top sides and back, the 'wood that dares not speak its name' i.e. acacia koa grown in Portugal.

It is currently strung with Aquila Nylgut strings, and I'm curious to try different strings to see the difference in sound. The Aquilas do sound good to me, more than adequate volume, sustain is good. I'm curious as to what else the uke might sound like with different strings on it. I mostly strum, mostly jazz standards and older, and in the next few months I want to start picking more.

Can anyone throw a suggestion or two for strings that I should try on this uke? I'd be very grateful. Some time ago I read about a 'string sampler' pack, but I can't find any info on that anywhere.

Cheers

I'd try Ko'olau Alohi low g's

Worth Browns. They were the first strings I ever tried that weren't Aquilas. They're well respected, and VERY different from Aquilas. Less volume. Less brashness. A bit more of a "bell-tone". A bit sweeter. I'm currently using Worth Clear Hards (I play a longneck soprano, so same scale as you), and find they're great for fingerpicking. For strumming, they more bark than sing, but I like that.

Aloha Bruce,
how's the ukulele sound..is it on the bright side or warm and rich... and what is your sound preferences....and Volume??

Hi Stan,

The uke is currently a little on the bright side, but not too far that way. It's also more than loud enough for what/how I play.