Good, Cheap Intermediate Ukulele?

mhh

Reaction score
I've been playing guitar for about 3 years, but about 6 months ago I started playing a Lanikai LU-11 and I'm thinking of purchasing a new ukulele somewhere in the $100-200 range. I want to buy a concert sized ukulele because on the soprano my fingers don't quite fit together tightly enough to play an open E chord (so I use the inconvenient "first fret on the G string" variant), making it hard to play chord progressions that involve that chord. However, a Tenor might be too large because I need to fit the ukulele into my backpack (because oftentimes good song ideas come to me while I'm walking home from school). I'm considering a Flea or a Mitchell MU100, because I've heard great things about both, but if anyone has other suggestions I'd be glad to hear them. Thanks in advance!

I have a Mitchell MU-70-- it's a concert with a different laminate top, but essentially the same. (It's actually the one on the right in my icon.) For that price range, I'd advise against it. Something about how the Mitchell is constructed gives it a less-than-optimal sound. I've heard some people say it's built more like a guitar than a uke, but I don't know enough about luthiery to say if that's really what the problem is.

For that price range, I'd be looking at a Fluke/Flea, or maybe the Kala Sprucetop Concert (Kala SC)-- which give you a solid top, good sound, good construction...

Anyway, my two cents.

Which do you reccomend, Tad, a Flea or a Fluke? The Flea is slightly cheaper, tho I don't know if there's a sound difference caused by the different shapes or if the Fluke is somehow higher quality.

I was gonna tell you to consider the Kala KA-C, but Tad mentioned the KA-SC which I think is a great option here, especially if you might go Low-G at some point -- lots of sound out of that little guy -- $160 delivered from MGM, can't go wrong there.