NUD...KoAloha Concert...

sbpark

Reaction score
So I just got back from picking up my new (at least new to me) Koaloha KCM-00 Concert. Sold some other instruments and decided I wanted a higher end, really nice uke, and this one happened to pop up for sale. In another thread that I posted asking opinions on ukues from a few different manufacturers, the KoAlohas kept getting recommended, especially in the concert size. I am pretty new to ukuleles, but have been a guitar player off and on since my teens. The ukues I have owned so far have been on the lower end including a Lanai CKCGC, Kala KA-MT Mango Tenor, and an Ohana CK-35G. I still own the Ohana, but sold the Lanikai and the Kala.

Obviously the KoAloha is in a completely different class compared to the other ukes I own/have owned, but in another thread a poster asked about my initial impression on how it compared to those other ukes, so I will try to give my interpretation/impression.

There really is no way to fairly compare the KoAloha to the other ukes I have owned. The quickest and easiest way to explain the difference is this: take a blanket and put it over your stereo speakers. If you left it there for a while you may actually get used to it if you didn't know otherwise or have anything else to compare it to. And turning up the volume isn't going to make it any better, only louder. Now remove the blanket. That's the way the KoAloha sounds to me. The other ukes I've owned just sounded dull, wimpy and muffled. I have to give credit though to the Ohana because it actually sounds pretty nice, but it's also solid wood (mahogany) where the Kala and Lanikai were all laminate.