PDA

View Full Version : Picking a pineapple?

Fliss
07-18-2011, 08:23 PM
As I'm new to UU, I'll apologise in advance if this is one of those questions that has been asked a million times before, I'm just trying to learn!!! I'm currently having fun researching my next uke (for when I move on from my cheap little starter uke) and am curious about the pineapple shape.

I understand that this design was patented by Kamaka in the 1920s, so does that mean Kamaka is the only maker that buildes ukes in this shape? In my web research, I don't see many others around.

I'm also curious about what the advantages / disadvantages of the pineapple shape are, compared to the more guitar-shaped body? Is it more mellow? I'm just trying to understand what the differences are and what factors would influence the choice of one shape over the other.

janeray1940
07-18-2011, 08:30 PM
Kamaka patented the pineapple, but now other companies also make them. In my experience the pineapple shape projects better and has a fuller tone - my Kamaka pineapple sounds more like a concert uke than a soprano uke, and it is LOUD. As for advantages/disadvantages, I think you need to play one and compare it to a traditional figure-8 uke to decide. I find the pineapple shape to be a perfect fit; I've heard others say they are difficult for them to hold. I think it mainly comes down to personal preference.

Brad Bordessa
07-18-2011, 08:47 PM
Pruners probably work best. You wait until it starts to smell sweet to know it's ripe. Oh wait...

TheOnlyUkeThatMatters
07-18-2011, 08:48 PM
I once had a chance to play a KoAloha pineapple ukulele---one of the nicest ukuleles I've had a chance to play!! But pricey...

There are plenty of less expensive pineapple ukuleles out there as well. Lanikai's LU-21P is nice for under $100. Ohana's PK series are very nice as well---the solid mahogany PK-25G is dreamy.