Would roadmaps be good for me?

rowjimmytour

Reaction score
I have been playing for about seven months now and have the simple chords down and some inversions and some bar chords. I also am able to play them by feel thanks to URBC and have learned some of the strumming patters (hawaii, thumb roll, finger picking). I can play some songs and most I can play the chords but haven't figured out the correct signature and strumming so this is something I would like to improve. Would roadmaps be a good book for me right now to help me progress or should I wait? Thanks in advance for all advise.
Peace

Roadmaps will teach you such things as playing in any key, using moveable/barre chords, improvising, the circle of fifths, and scales. If you have any interest in theory at all, I highly recommend it - but, it's not for everyone. If you have some music theory background you'll be able to work through it pretty well, but if you don't, you might find it a bit daunting.

Roadmaps will teach you such things as playing in any key, using moveable/barre chords, improvising, the circle of fifths, and scales. If you have any interest in theory at all, I highly recommend it - but, it's not for everyone. If you have some music theory background you'll be able to work through it pretty well, but if you don't, you might find it a bit daunting.

I forgot to mention the uke is really my first instrument after giving up drums, guitar, and bass as a kid for surfing...No music theory for me but would love to learn so I could play out side the lines and play the uke more like my favorite all time guitarist Mr. Jerome Garcia (or a least play some of his tunes).