PDA

View Full Version : New rumba flamenca....please give your opinions

patico
07-21-2011, 08:21 AM
Hi UUs
after some (hard) work i was finally able to transpose this guitar piece to the ukulele. it's a rumba flamenca that i like a lot.

i don't have quality gear to record my stuff, but anyway.... here it goes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UpPuoUHWIOs

iorana korua ta'ato'a

pulelehua
07-21-2011, 09:05 AM
I really like the subtlety of your strumming. You've got a wonderful range of textures there. It would be nice to have the chordal accompaniment on another ukulele.

I've been wondering lately how you go about making a flamenco ukulele, because surely what you want from a flameco guitar: shallower body, less sustain, more percussive attack, is kind of there already. Dunno. I'm no expert.

slackkey007
07-21-2011, 09:05 AM
Aloha & Welcome to the UU and our Forums! I checked out this video - great playing Bruddah! I like Rumba Flamenca very much. Have you heard of Jesse Cook? He's an amazing composer/musician/Flamenco Guitarist. He came out with a production and album called, "The Rumba Foundation." He modernizes and melds his trademark Spanish Flamenco style with the music of Cuba, Haiti, Brazil, Panama, and Columbia, among others for this collaboration of crisply performed guitar music with a mix of world influence with waves of percussion and emotion. Here's a link to a tv special about The Rumba Foundation album and tour. I love the music!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5T5ybE-o06I

I also watched your other videos. Great playing! By any chance, do you have tabs of the different songs that you play? I only know how to play by tabs. I have no clue on how to read sheet music. Keep the videos coming. Let me know what you think of Jesse Cook and his "The Rumba Foundation."

Trinimon
07-21-2011, 09:07 AM
Sounds great to me!

pulelehua
07-21-2011, 09:08 AM
Just watched Falseta Tangos. Ooooooooooooooooooooh! Would love to learn to do that!

BadLands Bart