PDA

View Full Version : Help with strings.

philrab66
07-22-2011, 09:06 PM
Hi everybody got a new uke a few weeks back. I have read lots of info on here about string choice and would like some comments please. It was my first uke so did not know much about them .I got the salesperson to play it in the shop and it sounded pretty good for the money. It has GHS strings on but decided not buy aquillas and decided to see how I got on with them.

After playing it for a while I noticed some of the strings sound a bit (muddy, woody ) especially when you get up to higher frets. I think it is called intonation not sure. Anyway if I put better strings on would it cure this or is it because it is a cheapish uke.

Small sample here
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vkM9rIX5Dss

Thanks Phil.

uke_rob
07-23-2011, 07:41 AM
I am no expert Phil, but from what I can gather is replacing the strings can be a short term fix for things like this.

Perhaps it being a cheapish uke, it'll never sound superb, but I think changing the strings can enhance the sound considerably. If the uke has cheap manufacture strings no doubt it doesn't sound perhaps as nice as it could. Certainly worth changing the strings if you are not happy though, it's a small price to pay rather then replacing for a new uke.

TheOnlyUkeThatMatters
07-23-2011, 08:01 AM
Muddiness can be cleared up a little with a set of fluorocarbon strings, which tend to have better sustain and clarity than nylon strings, perhaps at the expense of a little depth of tone. There are lots of quality brands---Worth, Southcoast, Martin, Fremont, etc.

PhilUSAFRet
07-23-2011, 09:18 AM
For a cheapish uke, didn't sound half bad. Why not get some experience at doing a set up on it to make sound as good as it can? If it's laminate, Aquilas "usually" improve it quite a bit, but lots of other strings out there folks love.

philrab66
07-23-2011, 01:33 PM