PDA

View Full Version : Playing without fingernails?

roypoy
08-21-2008, 06:10 PM
First off I'm a total noob, have been playing a few weeks and I do pretty much nothing but play basic chords whenever I have time to pick up my uke. I grew out my fingernails at first on my right hand (advice from some beginner book by Randy Sproat I picked up). It worked well at first, but I can't stand having long fingernails and cut them recently, I'm wondering is it possible to play well with short nails if you build up finger strength? Right now my playing sounds like death (faint) using a combo of short nail/fingertip and have been reverting back to using thumb/pointer fingertips which sounds louder but inconsistent.

russ_buss
08-21-2008, 06:34 PM
i keep my nails very short all the time. however, not sure what you mean by finger strength for picking. you'd probably need more finger strength for the hand that frets the chords.

Dane
08-21-2008, 07:00 PM
I personally feel like I advance quicker with my nails cropped down as far as they get.

UkuLeLesReggAe
08-21-2008, 11:46 PM
i personal cant play without them, probably a mental thing for me... but i play like i jusat started.

i like picking though, cant pick without fingernails!

grappler
08-22-2008, 12:05 AM
i used to have a long thumb nail, but i cut mine off already. it took time to get used to but i like the feel of it better than having nails

HI@heart
08-22-2008, 07:34 AM