Oil vs Lacquer

resoman

Reaction score
I'm getting ready to put a finish on my first two scratch builds and want to know what the general feeling is of oil vs lacquer. How much does one or the other effect the tone of the instruments? I had heard that oil can have a tendency to dampen the tone if too much is applied. Also, how much do pore fillers effect tone?? This has probably been discussed to death but as a rookie I'd like to know. Couldn't find any info in the search.
Thanks, terry

It's a personal preference I think. I've always heard that a thin oil or french polish finish allows for better sound but I just love a lacquer finish... especially the neck, I just have to have a lacquered neck. I use waterbase lacquer and it has the same slick feel as nitro on the neck. Dunno how much pore fillers effect tone, I can't imagine they'd effect it much if at all but I'm still wet behind the ears so hopefully someone else will chime in.

The best way to answer your questions is to finish one of your ukes in oil and the other grain filled with lacquer. I also agree with Liam, the finish should be the least of your worries.

Nonsense! The type of finish and how it's applied has plenty to do with how the instrument sounds.
For what I'm trying to achieve for my instruments (which may not be the same as yours), I want a finish that is as hard and as thin as is practical. I also want it to wear well and make it easy to repair. The home builder also needs to take into account what kind of equipment is available to him and what impact it has on the environment and how you feel about that.
But from simply a tonal perspective, I can say from my experience that the type of finish matters. Shoots, I can even tell a difference amongst different brands of nitro cellulose. True, it may be a minor consideration but the finish should be considered none the less.
For further reading check out Jeff Hewitt to start.

Last edited: