Running a middle school ukulele club

zombizon

Reaction score
Hi there folks,

I was hoping to pick some brains here. My name is Robert, and I'm a seventh grade teacher. I'm going to be running a ukulele club at my school next year. I've been playing ukulele myself for about two years now. Just wondering if anyone has any experience running a youth uke club, and if so, if that person could share any tips. I anticipate many of the kids being much better players than I am (actually hoping to learn from them too) but I want it to still be a worthwhile experience for all the kids. Anyway, like I said, any tips would be very much appreciated, both by me and the kids who will be in the club.

I run a club at a secondary school in England. That's like middle school and high school combined, by California standards. In practice, the "Juniors" and "Seniors", A-level students, don't have time to be in the club. So, 6th-10th graders basically. The core are 8th and 9th graders. Some of them are getting pretty good.

Lessons I've learned, and tips I would give:

1. Singers are really important. Make sure some people are willing to sing.
2. If you have access to YouTube, it's an amazing resource. Show the students what they're aiming at, skill-wise: Jake Shimabukuro, James Hill, Taimane Gardner. They need to know how good you CAN get at ukulele. UkeMinutes is great for... well, everything. Also, when you're learning a song, you can play and sing along with the video. (If you don't have access to YouTube, beg, borrow and steal for it.)
3. Try to get a range of kids in. Try to prevent it from becoming a clique. There is a faction in my club which is also just a social group in school. So, that makes it harder for new kids to join, as they're not part of that social group. Trying to work out what to do about that.
4. Try to get songs sooner than later that have some arranging; that is, not everyone is doing the same thing. It gives the better players a chance to shine.