Another Stupid String Question

deadpool

Reaction score
I have had my Kala KA-C for about a month now. I has Aquila Nylgut strings on it - those are what it came with. I am happy with the tone while strumming, but when picked the tone is sort of "muddy" for lack of a better term. Curious as to whether Worth Clears may have better definition and whether others have had the same experiences with this model or not.

Thanks!

Well, I'm a rookie like you, Mike, but I don't notice that problem with my Acquilas. Do you get a buzz when you pic?

I have had my Kala KA-C for about a month now. I has Aquila Nylgut strings on it - those are what it came with. I am happy with the tone while strumming, but when picked the tone is sort of "muddy" for lack of a better term. Curious as to whether Worth Clears may have better definition and whether others have had the same experiences with this model or not.

Thanks!

Remember, there are no stupid questions, only stupid people.

Wait, that isn't right. Anyway, I think I know what you're talking about. The C string on my Luna sounds pretty thuddy/muddy as well, and it came with Aquilas. Swapping out the strings to the Ko'olau Alohis helped a bit, but the thud was still there. It wasn't until I had a pro look at it that I learned it was a problem with the soundboard and how the C frequency resonated on it. Adjusting how and where I held it helped bring out more clarity on the string.

Maybe your Kala has a similar problem?

Yeah you usually don't hear that about Aquilas. Many don't like the feel but the sound is usually clear.

Thanks!
I had this exact same issue when I started to finger pick. Changed my tenor to Fremont Blacklines, my baritone to Southcoast linears, and my sit at the computer and play uke, and Ohana Vita has Worth Clears. Out of all of them, which I pick on daily, I would say as far as defined (single note and tone) and clear sound goes, they go in this order: