PDA

View Full Version : Getting volume without nails and more

Tantal
07-27-2011, 03:07 AM
I have been trying to grow my nails since I started playing about 6-7 months ago. I have a type of Psoriasis that affect my nails that sabotages my efforts to grow them. Bottom line: I cannot grow my nails to play. I am undergoing treatment for it but it will take 1-2 years for it to clear up.

Now is there anyway or trick to get the most volume out of your Ukulele without nails? String type that helps? Is there a solution that does not require picks?

I am currently using Aquilla Nylgut on my Oscar Schmidt (laminated wood) Tenor. I noticed that if I pluck with a nail (for the odd times my nails cooperate), it requires a lot less pressure with the left hand to fret the note and get a clear note, making moving from one chord to the next a lot easier and cleaner.

Any advice or experience you guys may have with this would help tremedously.

didgeridoo2
07-27-2011, 04:30 AM
Can you grow out your nails enough to try alaska pics? You can cut/file them like you would regular nails.
http://www.alaskapik.com/

mm stan
07-27-2011, 04:34 AM
finger picks work great for strumming....for course you gotta get used to them.....at first I hated them....it's a back up if a nail breaks...for me I had problems when I first started and my nails
used to break alot...I guess for the constant playhing has hardened my nails..haven't broken for a long time now..Knock on wood...

SailingUke
07-27-2011, 04:41 AM
Can you grow out your nails enough to try alaska pics? You can cut/file them like you would regular nails.
http://www.alaskapik.com/

Check out Fred Kelley's "Freedom" picks. A little pricey, but very comfortable and requires no nail to slip them under.

Tantal
07-27-2011, 06:03 AM
Are Freedom picks a soft or hard plastic? I have heard good things about them for strumming with the back of the "nail".

SailingUke
07-27-2011, 06:14 AM