how to get a clear sound?

AnuChandra

Reaction score
Im a total beginner and I can get a nice and clear F chord for example, but when I try chords like Bb or Bbm things just get blurry and its like the sound is no longer flowing even if my fingers arent blocking the other strings.. Is there anything that makes this easier, something I might be doing wrong or is it just practice that makes it more clear?

Thanks!

Anu

Check out some tutorials on UU and YouTube re: finger positions. Clean sounds come with proper finger placement, strengthening of your hands and fingers, and time..................read practice! Have patience grasshopper and it will come!

Welcome! IT TAKES A BIT MORE PRACTICE TO PLAY 4 string chords like the Bb cleanly. perhaps you are not pressing down hard enough, so some strings are getting muted.

I'm a newbie too, and this works for me: While holding the chord, pluck or strum each string individually. That will help you isolate which strings sound "blurry." Adjust your finger position and/or pressure on the blurry string until the string rings clearly when you strum/pluck it.

A chord like Bb is tricky for many beginners, so don't be surprised if it takes a long time (weeks or longer) to get it right consistently!

try the same chord in the second fret ==b and the 3rd fret == c ,is it clearer ? the b flat is in the first fret position and requires more push than any other position by your index finger. do it over and over try an f = bflat= c / c=b flat= f maybe a 2 3 2 2 3 2 rythm like doing pushups for your index finger lol.

It took me about 4 months to be able to play a Bb or B cleanly.

Practice, and you'll eventually get it.

As everyone else here has said: Practice. It's the only way.