I think my frets are out of tune...

Katie S.

Reaction score
Hey,
I just got my first uke today; a KPK Soprano. I'm a musician, so my ear is pretty good. When all the open strings are in tune (so says the tuner, not even my ear!) everything else is sharp starting at the very first fret. I read that pressing too hard can cause this, but I don't think I can be any lighter.
Could this possibly be caused by the crappy strings my instrument came with? If I put, say, Aquila strings on there, would it make any difference at all?
I only bought this particular ukulele because reviews said the thing was fabulously in tune. Like I said, I'm new to ukulele, but I'm a music teacher and I simply can not stand how sharp this is!

If you just got the ukulele, the strings should be stretching a lot during the first couple of days making the uke out of tune even by looking to hard at it. It could be that or you have a bad intonationproblem. But getting new strings is a good idea for most ukuleles since the factory ones generally do not justify the sound of the uke. So I would recommend getting new strings anyway :)

I'd also check the intonation. There is a great thread here that I just couldn't find this AM. Nut may be a little high, etc. Worth doing if strings don't fix it.

Start with the strings. Its likely that the uke came w/either Hilo or GHS strings, neither of which are generally considered "first choices". Next would be the height at the nut since it goes sharp at the first fret, but this may change w/the string change. So first either a set of Worth's (brown or clear) OR the Martin 600's (which you can usually find at local guitar stores). Then come back for a look at the many intonation/setup threads if needed after that.

Hope this helps!

Aloha Katie,
Sorry to hear your KPK is giving you issues...who did you buy it from..Jason or Ken??? was it on ebay...then it's Jason..Give him a call back...he usually sets them up...he is really good on