Pineapple vs. guitar-shaped?

t3ddigraham

Reaction score
I'm a newbie at uke, but when searching for a good entry-level instrument, it's just an overload of info. Too much. What I'm wondering is, is there a difference in the sound or performance of a pineapple uke as opposed to the more common ones? Does one perform better than the other?

All things being equal, e.g., materials, workmanship, strings, etc., the pineapple shape provides more surface area on the soundboard and more space in the sound chamber than a "pinch-waist", or traditional guitar/uke shape. More sound board and air chamber movement (vibration) equals more, but not necessarily better, sound output.

Compared side by side, the sound of my Kamaka pineapple soprano is FAR superior to the sound of my Kamaka soprano figure-8. The volume and sustain on the pineapple are probably comparable to my concert Kamakas. Not sure if this comparison would hold true for other ukes though - it could be that I just lucked out got a really good pineapple and only an okay-sounding figure-8.

Another thing to keep in mind about pineapples is that some people find them harder to hold than figure-8 ukes. I use a strap when I play so this isn't a problem for me - in fact, I find the pineapple shape more comfortable to play.

Welcome to the forums T3 - the answers above say it all. A good quality uke will usually sound and play really well, no matter the shape. I have a teardrop shape uke which sounds as good or better than any other uke I have.

Another thing to keep in mind about pineapples is that some people find them harder to hold than figure-8 ukes. I use a strap when I play so this isn't a problem for me - in fact, I find the pineapple shape more comfortable to play.