My first victory: G-D7 progression

Vladim

Reaction score
'Boil 'em cabbage down' is a really nice folk song for beginners.

When I started playing it G-D7 was a nightmare for me. I thought I would never make it: so different shapes these chords have. Moreover one passage demands G-D7 progression in one measure (the song is 4/4). But practice works miracles! Though my speed is very slow but after one and a half week I managed to switch my fingers in right positions just in time.

It's amazing feeling. Now I believe I can be a uke-player. The whole world of music is opened before me.

Are you using Uncle Rod's Ukulele Boot Camp exercises to learn chords? has helped many of us. What'cha going to learn next, "Mammy?"

Congratulations, Vladim! In a few more weeks, you'll be playing that tune at whatever speed you like.

Thanks for sharing your progress---it provides inspiration to all of us to work patiently toward our musical goals.

Yes, you CAN be a uke player, and you are. I love your comment "the whole word of music is opened up before me." That's how I felt last year when I got started. It's a great feeling, yes? Keep it up, and you won't believe how great it will continue to be!

Isn't it awesome when things just come and fall into place unexpectedly when you're on the learning curb, Happy accomplishments......Happy strummings.. do you know the hawaiian D7...2020

Fantastic stuff. It is such a lift when things come together. Congratulations.

Yes, you CAN be a uke player, and you are. I love your comment "the whole word of music is opened up before me." That's how I felt last year when I got started. It's a great feeling, yes? Keep it up, and you won't believe how great it will continue to be!
I will second that!