Looking for another chord name!.... 0234

gromit77

Reaction score
Hi

You guys were so useful a few days ago I thought I'd try you again! ;)

Looking for the name of this chord 0234

A4
E3
C2
G0

I thought it would be quite simple but I can't find it in my chord book or online.

Any help appreciated

Cheers

Neil

if you leave the a-string open it makes a Gsus2(0230) but i dont think 0234 is a chord. It has a harsh sound to it.

Hi

You could be right, truth is i'm using it as a kind of transition chord between a G major and B major, it sounds perfect for the song.

C# would be the #4 of G, or the #9 of B - never seen any of those configurations before. However, C# is in the key of B so perhaps that's why it works (I'm pretty new to this so I could be just totally making stuff up) - It sounds a little harsh on its own but I admit it sounds nice in that transition.

In the key of D major, it is a chord of G (IV) with a suspended 4th and it resolves to a regular chord of G. If you play "Fairytale of New York" in D, it is the second chord used on the words "drunk tank". The notes in the chord are G, C sharp and D. the C sharp is the suspended 4th and it resolves to a B.

Hope that makes sense.

Yes it sounds ok, I'm working on the Crowded House song "People are Like suns" and that phrase is sang in the chorus and the guitar transcriptions online have it G to B like below

G..................B
People are like suns

But i've added the extra chord over the word LIKE , for a bit of colour

G.............??..B...
People are like suns

I think it works, but it's probably unnecessary, i'll probably just leave it off the finished transcript I upload to the web and just keep it to myself lol

Thanks for your help

Last edited: