Singing in Key? What is it & How do we do it?

TheUker

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I've been playing ukulele more and progressed to the point where I could time the simultaneous strumming and singing (however badly it is). It's really cool and exciting....
BUT......................I have no idea how to sing!!:eek:

Let me provide an example: :D

G---------------D-----------Am
Mama, take this badge off of me...
G------D--------C
I can't use it anymore...

A song we are all familiar with and easy enough for me to play! So I take it that at 'Mama' we strum a G until 'badge,' which we will strum a D until 'me' where we will switch to an Am. I only have a couple months or so of self taught music experience but I also take it that my main trouble is that I can't sing in key...
According to the song & Mr. Dylan: are we suppose to sing in the..

key of G during "Mama, take this"
Key of D during "badge off"
key of Am during "me" ?

If so, this leads to me second question- how and what do we need to do to sing in key?

Last edited:
I don't think you need to sing it like the singer of the recorded version, whether it's Dylan or anybody else. Especially Dylan, he has a sound all his own! Remember, you're changing the CHORDS to play the notes, not KEYSs. You just want to find the sound that sounds right to your ear when you start singing. That's what they mean by singing "in key" or "in tune." If you're a little off, it will get better as you get used to the sound of the music, so try not to think about it so much. Music should be fun, especially the uke, so just expect to progress gradually. Some people never get to be a great singer, most just get to be good, some not even that, but just relax and have some fun.

Hello everyone, I've been playing ukulele more and progressed to the point where I could time the simultaneous strumming and singing (however badly it is). It's really cool and exciting....

G---------------D-----------Am
G------D--------C