Why is it that when the camcorder starts, the song tanks?

chindog

Reaction score
I've never done a recording of myself before, because I have been afraid of what would happen. Well, it did! Today I turned on my video camera, and totally butchered every song I tried to record. I even practiced several songs before hand, and did fine. But, when I turned on the camera, I came out with nothing at all worth uploading. But, I'm going to keep trying!

I'm so glad I'm not the only one who has this problem!

Happens to me all the time. In fact, I have a gig coming up and I just learned that they are filming it. I told them not to tell me next time as I'm sure I'm going to screw it all up. For some reason, I can play in front of 600 people, but I can't play in front of a camera all alone.

Dan

What I'm not sure of is whether I make that many mistakes normally, but let them go when the camera is off, or if I really just can't play in front of a camera? How would one go about discerning the difference?

hahah.. Never thought to mention that, because I thought it was just me. lol.. It's not stage frieght, I mean I used to gig many years ago playing bass, and guitar. But I dont know, it is just everytime I or someone hits record on the camcorder, I suck. Maybe it is stress knowing this is a permanant record so ya try too hard to be perfect. In gigging, and live, it's easy to use musical skill and cleverness to mask, and cover up imperfections (yeah, that is real, and pro musicians do it all the time..;)). But, yep, it happens, and my daughter whom is also a musician complains about the same thing. At least I know now it's not just a DNA thing for us, hahhah

Yeah, it definitely gets easier..... my first couple of videos were incredibly awkward, but I've forced myself to do at least one a week for awhile now.... getting to where I don't even think about the camera and it's a great relief. Just keep at it - it gets easier quickly.....