stage fright!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

finn

Reaction score
Hey there!I come from a musical family,everyone seems to either sing or play some sort of instrument.My brother does gigs almost every weekend,either as backup or headliner in the local pubs,and always produces his uke for a couple songs.Ive been playing for almost ayear and would love to do a few tunes with him...but I get stage fright so bad that I could forget the words to happy birthday if there was more than two people watching.Any suggestions,aside from expensive therapy or"suck it up,Sally"?

When I play at home I play to my dog. When I am on stage I just look down and play to my dog, but she is not there. Other than that, you just have to get up and do it. the more times you get up and play the easier it is.

It's called performance anxiety. Most of us have had it at some time in our lives. When I started playing (trumpet) in public, I was really scared. My stomach would do flip flops and I couldn't concentrate on the music. I was oh so worried about making a mistake. Things improved some when I played with others. Big band (110 members) was no problem because the stage lights are so bright you can't even see the audience. Smaller band still no problem because the music isn't very difficult and I'm not playing by myself. Brass quartet is a little more scary because I'm the only one playing my part. My biggest scare was solos and duets. The one single thing that has helped me the most was when I told myself, "You're going to make a mistake." And I do make some. However, I really practice my music before I perform so that I know it quite well. Next, I really concentrate on the music. If I play from a chart, I watch it very carefully and count everything. My biggest danger is day dreaming. You would think that would never happen playing before an audience, but it can. Also if you look all around while you're playing you can easily get distracted. Finally, remember that you are the live performer. You are