Fret size: soprano, concert and tenor

Vladim

Reaction score
I've been playing for nearly two months now. I like the sound of my uke and didn't brake a bank buying it. Everything's alright except the difficulties I excperience making some chords. There's so little space between neighbouring fret bars that it's a real challenge for me to crum my fingers between them. Especially difficult for me is Dm. My middle and ring fingers just don't want to be one under another on the G- and C-strings. I managed to shape G and G7 angling my fingers but Dm is a nightmare.

I started thinking to upgrade from soprano to concert or tenor. I know the last two offer more space for fingers. But how much? I measured the size of the second fret of my uke. It's 0.7" (18 mm).

Here is my question for you, my dear forumers: could you tell me the size of the second fret (and first and third if possible) of concert and tenor ukes so that I might compare the sizes and to choose the best for me?

There may be slight differences in scale length between manufacturers
Distance from fret #1 and #2
Flea Concert and Mainland Concert = 20mm
Kala and Kanile'a Tenor = 22.5 to 23mm

Distance from fret #1 and #3
Flea Concert and Mainland Concert = 40mm
Kala and Kanile'a Tenor = 44.5 to 45mm

Practice will help too. It takes time, but it should get easier. You should also look for long neck versions of the different sizes (super soprano, super concert). If you want a Tenor neck on a soprano body, for instance, Ohana makes one of those. The Flea also comes with long neck options.

Good luck!

–Lori

Last edited:
What Lori said. The single biggest thing to worry about is practice. You'll be amazed at how you can squeeze your fingers into tight places you never thought was possible after spending enough time doing it again and again and again.

The extra space provided by tenor (as compared to a soprano), may seem like a lot, but in truth it's nothing compared to what practice will do.