PDA

View Full Version : review of Kala flamed maple concert ukulele

kaizersoza
08-18-2011, 12:23 PM
I fancied one of these because of their bright and punchy sound and I was'nt disappointed.....with the sound and volume at first, then i started strumming a few chords and there is an almighty buzz coming from the A string and also the C string if I play it hard, now i am a relative noob and it could be down to my inexperienced fretting skills coz it does happen at times on all my other ukes but because of the brightness of this uke it sounds far more prominent.
The finish on the uke is I must say absolutely stunning with some nice flaming and some really attractive spalting on both the body, the back and headstock, the uke has a high gloss finish with a solid spruce top which gives it its punch and is a real eye catcher, it caught my eye because it looked so different to all the other ukes i have seen out there, it has a solid maple neck with mahogany binding and black and white purfling around the edge of the top and body, there is also an attractive abelone rosette around the sound hole.
I am relatively happy with this uke though not extatic, the buzz is really annoying me and i read a thread on UU recently and capo'ed it from the second fret and there was very little buzzing so hopefully if it is the uke it will be the bridge end and the action being raised could cure it, another bone of contention is the uke is advertised with amber tuning buttons, mine came with black, its not really a problem but i think the uke looks better with the amber ones, all in all for 149 and a bit of tinkering i should have a punchy uke with a little bit of individuality that needs taming, thanx for takin the time to read this review
kaizer

808boy
08-18-2011, 12:37 PM
Aloha kaizersoza,