Install a pick up in a Kamaka or a Kala?

gyosh

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I was reading old threads about amplifying acoustic instruments and I started wondering that since you're amplifying vibrations at the saddle (mi-si trio), how much does the quality of the instrument influence the sound? Would my Kamaka tenor sound that much better than my Kala tenor if I were to install a mi-si pick-up?

Thank you in advance for the education,

-Gary

Ahh... I will eagerly await the replies of the wiser among us. Should be interesting. I have no official knowledge on the matter, just hunches (so don't believe anything I say).

For me there is no substitute for a good instrument. Even if they sound pretty much the same plugged in (which I doubt), the better instrument is (in most cases) going to play better, feel better, and obviously sound better acoustically. But that MISI pickup is pretty awesome.

Last edited:
If you're talking about a UST like the acoustic trio then you are somewhat correct - it's measuring basically the changes in pressure exerted against the "sandwich" between the bridge and top. With those pickups, the pickup, preamp, and amplifier chain have far more impact on your "tone" than the quality of the uke (assuming the uke isn't a complete dog). If you're talking about a soundboard transducer that's a whole 'nother horse of a different ball of wax. :)

That said, you are still probably going to notice some difference in tone between a Kala and a Kamaka - it's just that the difference won't be as great through a UST as it would be with a microphone or soundboard transducer. Of course, you're going to notice a lot of difference in playability - especially if the Kala hasn't been set up well - and playability has an affect on tone because it affects how "happy" you are playing the instrument.