Epiphone Ukulele or Lanikai LU-21C ?

lyannefebo

Reaction score
I'm getting a ukulele for my birthday.I'm also a complete beginner,it's
the first instrument I'll learn but I'm stuck between these two models : The Lanikai LU-21 C Concert Ukulele (which I heard is a very nice instrument) and the Epiphone Les Paul Ukulele (this one I'm not so sure about,I've heard mixed opinions). So I need to know which one is better ?

Please help.
Looking forward to your opinions,

Lyanne from Puerto Rico.

Hmmmm, you'll get lots of opinions. Apples and oranges really. The Lanikai a more "traditional" uke, the LP more of a "specialty" uke. The LP has a pickup, the Lanikai doesn't unless you buy the more expensive one. Want/need a pickp?
Lanikai perhaps a better "learner's" uke.

Hmmmm, you'll get lots of opinions. Apples and oranges really. The Lanikai a more "traditional" uke, the LP more of a "specialty" uke. The LP has a pickup, the Lanikai doesn't unless you buy the more expensive one. Want/need a pickp?
Lanikai perhaps a better "learner's" uke.

Well I really like the way the LP looks,it's kind of my style.But then again everybody tells me the Lanikai is for learning.
So I'm a little bit frustrated in that part..

You can learn on any uke that is set up decently. The nut was a little high on my LU-21C (my first uke and I too bought it because so many people online recommended it for a "first uke"). It wasn't terrible, though, and was certainly playable. Of course, I've set up my own guitars for years so I just grabbed the nut files and set it up. Still, if I hadn't have had that ability it still would have been an acceptable uke.

I haven't had my hands on the Epiphone LP model uke - but most of the comments I've seen from people who have are along the line of "looks nice, sounds okay plugged in, is a complete dog unplugged." (I'm paraphrasing.)

So, my first choice would be the LU-21C.

John