Best cedar uke under $350?

flutinggnee

Reaction score
Hello! I'm a fairly newbie to ukulele. I have a flea soprano, and am interested in getting a cedar top soprano ukulele. I like low action. I've read very good things about the Mainland cedar tops. I'd like any opinions on Mainland cedars, Ohana, or Makai? Also, I just saw that Hawaii Music Supply has a Kala cedar top soprano that I might be interested in.....

I'd like to hear from anyone with any experience with these cedar-topped sopranos, or some other brand. I read that the Ohanas and BUshman have slightly higher action than Mainland and Makai?

So, any feedback will be greatly appreciated! Thanks much, Jeanie

So... Mainland, Ohana, & Makai are all made in the same factory in China. What distinquishes similar models is then the appointments & the care w/which each is setup before delivery. Mainland's owner, Mike Hater (Hoosierhiver on UU) sets up each instrument - he even puts the final finishing touches including geared or friction tuners. Mainland resellers like Mike McQueen of Uke Republic does setup as well & his Ohana's & Makai's get that setup; There's also dear Mim of "Mim's Ukes" who does setups too. Other vendors may also setup the instruments, but some just have them drop-shipped straight from larger distributers w/only factory setup. HMS setps up the ukes they sell as well from what I've heard. Ken Middleton is Ohana's rep & it is probably as much his personal integrity & respect from the UU community that gives Ohana an edge up over the Makai or maybe even Kala.

My first uke was a cedar top Kala concert & it was GREAT. Only sold it as I moved on to other ukes. I also owned a Mainland Red Cedar Tenor at the same time I had a Mahogany to compare it with... Cedar is a wonderful tonewood - great reasonance. I've played several other cedar top ukes including Haolejohn's cedar top Mele - all have a great ringing tone.

Mahalo & good luck on your quest

Last edited: