Eddie Vedder songs High G vs. Low G

Martelo

Reaction score
Hi, I'm fairly new to this forum. Actually this is my first post and I'm also fairly new to the Uke in general. I've been playing for a while but by no means am I any sort of expert. I also live in Canada, (I'm a little removed from Uke culture unfortunatley) so please dont mind i
if my questions are a little obvious.

My first question is: I want to lean some of the new Eddie Vedder Uke songs but I'm not sure if he plays with a High G string or a Low G string, can anyone clarify that for me?

My second question is: I have a Kala Tenor (KA-ASMT) currently strung with a wound Low G string while all my others are nylon. If I want to learn these songs and they are played with a High G string is it possible to achieve a High G with my current string? My guess is no and I didnt want to try in fear of damaging my Uke but I thought I would ask.

Thanks for the help!!!!

Welcome to UU, Martelo! :)

My second question is: I have a Kala Tenor (KA-ASMT) currently strung with a wound Low G string while all my others are nylon. If I want to learn these songs and they are played with a High G string is it possible to achieve a High G with my current string? My guess is no and I didnt want to try in fear of damaging my Uke but I thought I would ask.
I don't know about Eddie Vedder, but no, you can't just crank a low G string up to high G. You will need to replace the string.

My first question is: I want to lean some of the new Eddie Vedder Uke songs but I'm not sure if he plays with a High G string or a Low G string, can anyone clarify that for me?

Thanks for the help!!!!

Welcome! I'm pretty sure they're all re-entrant (high g).