Strings Fremont and Aquila String Comparison

Noobie

Reaction score
I recently acquired a Honu Traditional Concert ukulele, which I love, but had some concern that maybe the strings on it weren't the best fit. I decided if I was going to swap out the strings that I was going to record when I did so I could truly compare them "side-by-side."

My recording rig consisted of a Samson Meteor microphone connected to Garage Band on the iPad. I tried to keep the same distance between the mic and the ukulele (about 10 inches), and to play the strings with the same force. Please forgive my marginal playing abilities, I'm still learning.

Recordings saved as 44KHz 16-bit highest-quality AIFF files to try and maintain detail (although Garage Band exported the original files as AAC). I recommend listening with a good pair of headphones.

The first recording is with a set of Aquila Nylgut strings which were on the ukulele when I got it: http://cl.ly/2v12073F0o0L41352M0m

The second recording is a set of Fremont Blacklines which have been on the instrument for two days. Surprisingly, they're still settling in, but I tuned it up immediately before starting: http://cl.ly/0L1y2j1i2J1o0H061i37

You can pass your own judgment, but to my ears the Blacklines are clearly louder and brighter. They have a lot more low-end and slightly better sustain. I consider them a tonal upgrade to the instrument. I also find them a bit easier to play, although I know some people prefer fatter strings.

I plan on doing the same recording test with a Kala KA-KC and Aquila vs Worth.

Last edited:
My computer won't let me hear your samples right now, but I love this idea and look forward to hearing them. Thank you!