Home Made Ukulele Gig Bag Project (Concert)

Leodhas

Reaction score
Home Made Ukulele Gig Bag Project (Concert)

Hi, I saw a post on here a few weeks ago, it was some fella who'd knitted his own ukulele gig bag and it got me to thinking, could I make my own gig bag? However, I am extremely useless when it comes to sewing/knitting, let's just call it household crafts (I don't know the correct term). Nevertheless, I will not be deterred (please remember I've never held a sewing needle in my life until today) and have committed myself to doing this! So this afternoon I bought myself 2 by 1 yards of denim (I thought denim would be a good choice of material because it's blue and durable) and some needles and thread. I have been cracking on with this all evening. It's a very simple design as i'm new to this but I'm finding it fairly relaxing!

I expect this to take me 2/3 days (going at it in the evening after work) and I will post a few pictures when I'm finished and have attached a couple to this post of the design and this evenings progress. This is all being done by my hand, except the one straight line down the angle which I got my girlfriend to do on her sewing machine earlier this evening. (I'm nowhere near advanced enough to be using sewing machines yet).

You may ask what I expect to gain from this endeavour (you may not, but you may) ? Well, to be honest, I'm hoping it makes me look sensitive and creative to my new girlfriend. Basically i'm looking to impress her, but I'm also getting a big kick out of making the bag. I've learnt that sewing is a very intricate skill and that you do draw blood from your fingers doing it! Also, surely someone needs to invent a new method of threading a needle! Threading needles is incredibly frustrating.