Anyone played a Martin Backpack uke?

Linzuke

Reaction score
I found this post on Craigslist today for a Martin Backpack Soprano uke.

I'm pretty new to playing the uke, but I am heading to Costa Rica soon and want a second one to take with me (clearly this is the start of UAS). First of all, has anyone played one before and how do they sound? And secondly, is this a good deal (just needs new strings)?

Thanks!

I haven't heard the Backpacker uke but if sound's anything like the Martin Backpacker guitar (which it looks like) the sound leaves much to be desired and they are pretty much universally disliked for being awkward to hold. I see new Martin Backpacker Ukes can be had for 30% more so if you try this one and like it enough to buy, you just saved some money.
Good luck with your travels.
Doug

I haven't heard the Backpacker uke but if sound's anything like the Martin Backpacker guitar (which it looks like) the sound leaves much to be desired and they are pretty much universally disliked for being awkward to hold. I see new Martin Backpacker Ukes can be had for 30% more so if you try this one and like it enough to buy, you just saved some money.
Good luck with your travels.
Doug

I agree. I owned a Backpacker guitar steel string. Sound wasn't good and very awkward to hold.

Looks like they sold new for $150, so it's a good price as far as that's concerned. However, I haven't heard good things about it. If you're looking like a travel uke, I think I'd beat the Makala Dolphin drum again. Especially since you're going to traveling through various humidity conditions, a laminate will make more sense since it's less likely to develop cracks.