build a ukulele ?

cool plans

thanks howlin hobbit , that one looks cool and the site has the plans which you can download and look at ...much fun...have you put one together ?

usually i have no patience for kits because i just cant wait for the finished
product ,
strangley i believe the ukulele has helped me become a much calmer person (even though as a beginner i have fingering frustrations ) when you finally hear music coming out of it you chill out and keep going , its great !
what i want to do is approach it (the kit) from a "lets see how good i can make this " instead of how quick i can do it .

has anyone out there done a kit ?

Google for some of the other ukulele boards, such as Uketalk, Ukulele Cosmos, 4th Peg, Ezfolk, and you will find a few people that documented their process very nicely. Be sure to use the search function for these forums as well, a build thread was active not too long ago.

I just finished the kit from Stew Mac. It came out great. Now I'm working on a fully from scratch one. I'm have a hell of a time bending the sides....

The Stew-Mac kit is on my "I wanna" list but I haven't built one.

John Colter has built a number of them. He can be found hanging out at the Ukulele Cosmos forums. He's not only built the kits, but he has a bunch of techniques to "hot rod" them a bit so they're even better. He wrote little review of it on UKukes.co.uk. In it he mentions the Carrot Creek write up of the process, with the caveat that it was of one of the earlier models without the body taper.

He may have written up some of the "hot rod" techniques on the Cosmos forum (I seem to remember reading a bit about them) but I can't for the life of me remember. Search there.

thanks

many thanks everyone ...:worship:
i have no idea what i typed into search the first time ...this time around i discovered ukulele underground to be a treasure trove of info please accept my apologies ukeninja.
and that stew mac kit does look tempting