PDA

View Full Version : Cardinal Lacquer...

Pete Howlett
09-13-2011, 03:27 AM
I've been using this stuff here in the UK. The supplier is Dave King Guitars. Dave is THE authorised repairman for Martin Guitars (yes there is only one in the UK), Sanata Cruz and others plus importer for National Resophonic Guitars. We are really disadvantaged in the UK with a paucity of luthier supplies specilaists and Dave has to import 100 galls of this stuff at a time...

We have used Behlen's and Mcfaddens and like most luthiers find the new operation supplying McFaddens almost impossible to deal with. Recommended by Richard hoover I believe, Dave switched to cardinal and has never looked back.

I've been using it for a a couple of months now and there are a number of things about this lacquer that make it stand out.

Excellent flow out properties - it sprays with a very forgiving nature to my quite rudimentary equipment.
Really good adhesion especially immediately over an epoxy filled finish - no 'additional' barries or adhesion favoring layer required. Good adhesion to ebony
Very quick hardening time - you leave it for longer than 4 days to polish out and you are going to be spending all day at your polisher!
Non- brittle hardness
Mirror shine

This is without doubt the best I have used - thanks dave ;)

thistle3585
09-13-2011, 05:51 AM
I could not find anything on a lacquer at the Cardinal website. I wondered if I had the right company. Can you provide a web address or a product name or number?

Moore Bettah Ukuleles
09-13-2011, 08:13 AM
Thanks for the review Pete. Now ask Dave to ship me some in Hawaii! :)

mketom
09-13-2011, 08:26 AM
I could not find anything on a lacquer at the Cardinal website. I wondered if I had the right company. Can you provide a web address or a product name or number?

http://www.cardinalpaint.com/products/product.php?psid=6

Rick Turner
09-13-2011, 03:08 PM