PDA

View Full Version : New ukulele has bridge pins... thinking of swapping?

westcoast
09-17-2011, 10:03 PM
I'm a guitarist trying out ukulele for the first time. Went to a local music shop and got an Islander tenor ukulele. It wasn't till I got home that I realized there was a difference in the way strings were tied down. It seems like a big hassle to change strings this way because ukulele strings don't automatically come with the metal ring on the string.

Am I crazy for thinking I want to swap it for something that has a more traditional bridge? I still have a few days left to return it...

Manalishi
09-17-2011, 11:32 PM
Some prefer bridge pins to the traditional 'bridge tie' method.
I don't mind either,but you are not going to find strings with
any sort of ring or bead already fitted! You have one of the
simplest set ups there,try a few string changes and then make
up your mind,it's simple enough!

dnewton2
09-18-2011, 12:55 AM
Yeah it is up to you but I agree the bridge pin set up is nice for changing strings. You just tie a knot in the string and get it to catch on the slot in the pin hole.

Michael N.
09-18-2011, 04:00 AM
Either method is fine. Tying a knot in the end of a string is hardly rocket science as they say and both bridge pins and tie on have been used for centuries.
On the thinner strings I tie a knot and singe the end so it forms a bobble. Careful with Nylon and Nylgut because they can actually start to burn. You need to be prepared to extinguish any flame, however small it is. I then thread a small plastic bead onto the string.

Gmoney
09-18-2011, 04:41 AM