Fernando Sor, Opus 60, No.1

Tsani

Reaction score
I have been working on this piece with my teacher for about a month. I am studying with a guy who is working on his master's degree in classical guitar. I filmed it twice because I wanted to compare sound quality between an indoor performance and an outdoor performance. I was not sure how much "ambient sound" the camera would pick up outdoors. Turns out it picked up a lot. You can hear a car going past pretty clearly. I like the outdoor scenery but it does mess up the sound. The second rendition is indoors with some improvement in the sound. I am playing this piece a bit slower than perhaps others have. I am trying to make it more of a lullaby than a dance. Let me know what you think.

Last edited:
Nice playing. I like the outdoor setting visually, but the sound was better indoors. The indoor setting seemed more lullaby-like, kind of cozy, but the background was a bit busy. There are different kinds of microphones, and some of them are directional, which helps in limiting the ambient background noise. Outdoors is a problem most places, because of cars and planes and sirens and helicopters....

Thanks for posting!
–Lori

Nice playing. I like the outdoor setting visually, but the sound was better indoors. The indoor setting seemed more lullaby-like, kind of cozy, but the background was a bit busy. There are different kinds of microphones, and some of them are directional, which helps in limiting the ambient background noise. Outdoors is a problem most places, because of cars and planes and sirens and helicopters....

Thanks for posting!
–Lori

Thanks, Lori. I need to invest in some video and recording equipment - or go over to DeG's house and use his! Lord knows, he makes some serious videos. Yeah, I am using a cheapo camera with a built-in mic and it is never going to get any better unless I spend some money.