Help!!! Tuning wrong for 3 whole years?!?!

tayjoby

Reaction score
I'm not really a beginner, I've been playing my soprano uke for almost 3 years, and I taught myself out of a book. Today I went and got myself a super nice baritone. As I got home and was about to check the tuning, I realized that every site on Google says to tune G-C-E-A, but the book that I've been using for the past three years says A-D-F#-B. So not only have I been tuning wrong, but does this mean that now every chord I know is wrong? So now I'm just really confused and frustrated. Please help me! D:

I'm not really a beginner, I've been playing my soprano uke for almost 3 years, and I taught myself out of a book. Today I went and got myself a super nice baritone. As I got home and was about to check the tuning, I realized that every site on Google says to tune G-C-E-A, but the book that I've been using for the past three years says A-D-F#-B. So not only have I been tuning wrong, but does this mean that now every chord I know is wrong? So now I'm just really confused and frustrated. Please help me! D:

The classic tuning is in fact GCEA, but you have been taught to play 2 step higher. No problem! Same chord shapes, just will be 2 step down. They may have taught you with the "right" names for the chords with the standard tuning. When you fret the uke on the A string (or for you what was the B string) on the 3rd fret, did you learn that be a C or a Bb. If you learned it as a C, then they taught you the "right" name for the chord. Chord shaped the same, just tuned properly it will sound 2 steps up.

Now the Bariton is DGBE. Basically 5 steps down from the GCEA tuning. Same chords, but will have a differnt name. C on soprano becomes a G on Baritone, what not.