Cigar-box help?

Shoepixie

Reaction score
Hi! My name's Shoe, I've been playing for a bit. I am a total newbie when it comes to making instruments, but very enthused about the idea.

TL;DR: I have a project in mind that involves turning a damaged uke of mine into a cigar box uke, recycling all but the body. I'm looking for someone (hopefully local!) who has some experience to help me out.

This is a bit of an odd post - I have never *made* a cigar box uke, but I've loved them for a good while, and always wanted to make one. I have a tenor Lanakai acoustic/electric, loved it. The uke-hanger on my wall tilted, and it fell! The crack along the bottom isn't bad, but I don' have the know-how or the tools to fix it. The pickup still works, and besides the bottom being cracked, it's still a really nice uke.

If anyone does know how to fix it, that would be awesome - however, I had another idea.

My *hope* is that I can use the neck, etc. from my tenor Lanakai, and with a cigar box make a new uke out of this damaged one. Only thing is, I don't have the tools or the know-how for *that*, either. I'd be willing to pay a little bit for this, but I'm super poor, and since I'm providing all the parts, I was hoping I could find someone to help me for not much money. I am currently in Southern Wisconsin, so anyone as far as Madison, Milwaukee, Chicago....I am totally willing to be an assistant, if you live close enough - I'd love to learn as much as I can.

Last edited:
Could you post a pic of the damage? It would be a shame to chop a nice uke up if it could be repaired.

Sure can!

I am pretty sure it can be repaired, but I don't have the tools...or the money to pay a good luthier. It's a pretty uke, cost about $190. It's a laminate, but I still loved it. My plan was to turn into a CBU and get a cordoba tenor to replace it...but if it could be repaired...

100_3204.jpg 100_3207.jpg 100_3209.jpg 100_3212.jpg 100_3213.jpg

Last edited:
Cigar box help