Inlay Advice Please

Vic D

Reaction score
Please be kind, this is my first attempt at a serious inlay. I still have some work to do in the black and white wings part. This is the thing, the white pearl in the wings part is some really awkward stuff to etch, like other pearl it goes from tough to soft but when it gets tough it's really tough and causes the one tool I've got ( a onglette graver ) to hang. What do you guys use to etch? And any other inlay tips or advice is always appreciated.
The bird has about 34 pieces in it, two types of pearl, ebony, rosewood, maple and a couple of mystery woods lol. The tail was made with ebony and ebony/maple purfling, very tedious haha. The flowers are pink MOP, green and red recon stone.
I should have had this uke done already but now I've changed my mind on the neck and I need a really nice stick of flamed maple. It'll have an ebony skunk stripe and ebony fretboard and bridge with bird inlays.

View attachment 28416View attachment 28417

If you're going to get into inlay, Larry Robinson's question to me, "Do you have my new book?" I said, "I have your book - is there a new one?". LR, "Yes, there's an updated version, and if you don't have it, you should." I have it, and I'm glad I do.

If you're getting into engraving, I got an engraving book (old one) that helped, but Grit Laskin's book helped a LOT. Doesn't teach you much like Robinson's book, but it forces you to learn, if you want.

If that is your first attempt, you'll be having others ask you the questions in no time.

-Aaron