PDA

View Full Version : Organized lesson plans....'ukulele teachers....

airmanfoote
09-28-2011, 04:29 PM
Hey all!

I am brand new to the 'ukulele and stringed instruments in general. I have not played an instrument since I graduated high school, over 10 years ago. My experience is with wind instruments, mostly the clarinet.

I am basically looking for some real guidance. A structured lesson plan of sort. I have picked up a book, Ukulele for Dummies, but it focuses more on teaching how to play a song in 5 minutes and going from there, and lacks quite alot of music theory related to the uke.

I don't want to just learn some common chords and strumming patterns to be able to play songs. I'm used to reading sheet music and would love to just be able to SEE and know the notes on the fretboard. I would really love to master the instrument itself, and not just songs.

Are there any actual 'ukulele teachers out there? Teaching myself a new instrument is a new path for me. I guess what I'm saying is; I was in the military. I got used to structure and order. I'm lost without an organized lesson plan. Anybody? Thanks in advance!

TheOnlyUkeThatMatters
09-28-2011, 05:21 PM
Chalmers Doane has been teaching music via the ukulele up in Canada since the 70s. He and James Hill have put together the books you're describing. Check out Ukulele Yes! (http://www.ukuleleyes.com/issues/vol10/no3/) to get an idea where they're coming from, and check out their Ukulele in the Classroom (http://www.ukuleleintheclassroom.com/) series of books.

BTW, many mahalos for your military service.

airmanfoote
09-28-2011, 05:52 PM