Big Island Honu Prototype Tenor Cutaway - MGM Stock

I am new to Ukes and noticed this one on eBay. Is this one good? How does it compare to a Kamaka or Kanilea?

IT is a big island NOT a honu model. you also left oscar schmidt as brand lol. antheo if mike did the set up on this at 800+ its a great price. They are excellant ukes some of the best wood around is used.
would help also looks like the case is included. you are 5 days late accck. I have been looking for a HONU or BI for a while finally bought another amped tenor 5 days ago lol.

I am new to Ukes and noticed this one on eBay. Is this one good? How does it compare to a Kamaka or Kanilea?

They are not HI-made the wood is excellent,though, since the Winkler family are also lumber merchants.

Cheers,
Christian

Depends on what you're comparing. The wood is from the Big Island, but the build is overseas. To get a cutaway Kanilea or Kamaka, with bindings, pickup, inlay and case, there's no way you'll pay $800. I would put this more along the lines of a Pono (just because its built overseas to keep costs down). Of course, this is just 1 of 4 built, so put your own value to it.

Aaron

this just got relisted ,it didn't sell for $800, the listing is hard to read ,has it listed as an oscar schmidt, finally figured out it has an excellant uke krazy hard case, not the canvas version, The pics go left to right lots of good pics not so easy to view. at $800 someone should grab this . It is the top of the line Big Island equal to the Honu with the turtle bridge. I am sure the pics aren't doing the wood justice as the KOA in these ukes is usually amazing just check out some of the pics on the honu posts. I just spent my budget on another uke or I would for sure . Also this was Mikes MGM's uke so you know it should be set up well.